3.—Duration and Sessions of Dominion Parliaments, 1867-1926—concluded,

Number of Parliament.	Session.	Date of Opening.	Date of Prorogation.	Days of session.	Elections, writs returnable, dissolutions and lengths of Parliaments.*
8th Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 1st 2nd	Aug. 19, 1896 Mar. 25, 1897 Feb. 3, 1898 Mar. 16, 1899 Feb. 1, 1900 Feb. 6, 1901 Feb. 13, 1992	Oct. 5, 1896 June 29, 1897 June 13, 1898 Aug. 11, 1899 July 18, 1900 May 23, 1901 Mey 15, 1902	48 97 131 149 168 107	June 23, 1896.* July 13, 1896.* Oct. 0, 1900.* 14 y., 2 m., 26 d.* Nov. 7, 1900.* UDec. 5, 1900.4
10th Parliament	3rd 4th 1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Mar. 12, 1908 Mar. 10, 1904 Jan. 11, 1905 Mar. 8, 1906 Nov. 22, 1906 Nov. 28, 1907	Oct. 24, 1993 Aug. 10, 1904 July 20, 1905 July 13, 1906 April 27, 1907 July 20, 1908	227 154 191 128 157 236	Sept. 29, 1904.5 3 y., 9 m., 26 d.6 Nov. 3, 1904.2 Dec. 15, 1904.4 Sept. 17, 1908.5 3 y., 9 m., 4 d.6 Oct. 26, 1908.3
11th Parliament	1st 2nd 3rd 1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Jan. 20, 1909 Nov. 11, 1909 Nov. 17, 1910 Nov. 15, 1911 Nov. 21, 1912 Jan. 15, 1914 Aug. 18, 1914	May 19, 1909 May 4, 1910 July 29, 1911 April 1, 1912 June 6, 1913 June 12, 1914 Aug. 22, 1914	120 175 196 ¹ 139 173 ² 148	Dec. 3, 19084. July 29, 1911.5 2 y., 7 m., 28 d.6 Sept. 21, 1911.5 Oct. 7, 1911.4
13th Parliament	5th 6th 7th 1st 2nd 3rd	Feb. 4, 1915 Jan. 12, 1916 Jan. 18, 1917 Mar. 18, 1918 Feb. 20, 1919 Sept. 1, 1919	April 15, 1915 May 18, 1916 Sept. 20, 1917 May 24, 1918 July 7, 1919 Nov. 10, 1919	71 127 2077 68 138 71	Oct. 6, 1917.* 6 y., 0 m., 0 d.* Dec. 17, 1917.* Feb. 27, 1918.4
14th Parliament	3rd 4th	Feb. 26, 1920 Feb. 14, 1921 Mar. 8, 1922 Jan. 31, 1923 Feb. 28, 1924 Feb. 5, 1925	July 1, 1920 June 4, 1921 June 28, 1922 June 30, 1923 July 19, 1924 June 27, 1925	127 111 113 151 143 143	Oct. 4, 1921.5 3 y., 7 m., 6 d.8 Dec. 6, 1921.3 Jan. 14, 1922.4 (Sept. 5, 1925.5 3 y., 7 m., 26 d.4 Oct. 29, 1925.3
15th Parliament	let let	Jan. 7, 1926 Dec. 9, 1926	July 2, 1926 —	1778 —	Dec. 7, 1925.4 (July 2, 1926.5) 208 ds. (Sept. 14, 1926.5) Nov. 2, 1926.4

*Not including days (59) of adjournment from May 19 to July 18. *Not including days (25) of adjournment from Dec. 19, 1912, to Jan. 14, 1913. *Period of general elections. *Writs returnable. *Dissolution of Parliament. *Duration of Parliament in years, months and days. The life of a Parliament is counted from the date of return of election writs to the date of dissolution, both days inclusive. *Not including days (39) of adjournment from Feb. 7 to April 19, 1917. *Including days (13) of adjournment from Mar. 3 to Mar. 15. *The ordinary legal limit of duration for each parliament is five years.

A brief résumé of the history of parliamentary representation follows. Attention may be drawn to the growth in the number of members of both the Senate and the House of Commons since Confederation and to the greatly increased unit of representation in the Lower House.

3.-The Senate.

The British North America Act, 1867, provides in sections 21 and 22 that "the Senate shall consist of seventy-two members, who shall be styled Senators. In relation to the constitution of the Senate, Canada shall be deemed to consist of three divisions,—(1) Ontario; (2) Quebec; (3) The Maritime Provinces, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick; which three divisions shall be equally represented in the Senate as follows:—Ontario by twenty-four Senators; Quebec by twenty-four Senators; and the Maritime Provinces by twenty-four Senators, twelve thereof representing New Brunswick and twelve thereof representing Nova Scotia. In the